Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LLR Home Library Services Student IT Support Our Libraries Digital Skills Centre
MyAccount Email VLE MyLSBU

Operating Department Practitioner: Find Journal Articles

Alternative access to E-resources

If you cannot access the individual databases on this page, try the Alternative Access page.  The databases on this page are arranged in alphabetical order.   https://libguides.lsbu.ac.uk/e-resources

 

If you can’t get access to the ebooks or articles you require and you need help finding relevant material, please contact us by emailing  askalibrarian@lsbu.ac.uk

Search Strategy Worksheet document

Search Strategy Tips

Tip 1: Think of your keywords and use AND to link them

It is important that you don't just search for a whole sentence or question and instead think carefully about what are your most important keywords

e.g. Discuss methods of achieving success at university

Your keywords would be success AND university

Tip 2: Come up with alternate keywords (synonyms) and connect with OR

The database will just search for the keywords you enter into the search box, therefore you need to think about all the different ways something might be described 

e.g. university may also be described as "higher education" OR college OR "educational institution"

Tip 3: Use quotation marks when searching for phrases

In order to keep two or more words together as a phrase, enclose them in quotation marks

e.g. "higher education" will look for the phrase "higher education" rather than individual words, "higher" and "education".

Tip 4: Use Truncation for words that start the same but may have different endings

A number of databases allow you to use the asterisk symbol * to save you time

e.g.  manag* will find manage, manages, managed, managing, management etc.

 

Journal Article Search (EDS)


Discovery Service - Search here Find journal articles and more

A-Z Databases - Operating Department Practitioner

Full Text Databases generally provide the pdf for articles in your results list. However these databases also contain records of articles published elsewhere. You may be able to access these articles by clicking the 360 Link button, provided we have a subscription to the journal they are in.  
An abstract is a concise summary of the contents of an article. It is written using keywords (search terms) so that other researchers can easily find it through database searching. Please note that we may not have a subscription to the full text of the article. If you are final year student or postgraduate, you can apply for an inter-library loan.
Please go here to access the free databases
These databases are available without a subscription and you can continue to use them after you graduate.

Finding Journal Articles from your Reference List

If you would like to find a particular journal article that you have come across on your reading list, etc. you can easily search for this on the Library Catalogue. It is even easier, if you have the reference for this article.

Our reference example above is in Harvard style. However, no matter what referencing style you have in front of you - determining the various components of a reference is a practical skill to possess.

  • You can complete a simple Quick Search on the Library Catalogue - by typing parts of the journal article and/or the author's surname in the second search box. This box is connected to several journal databases, called "Discovery Service".
  • You can also try looking up the journal title on the Journals tab in the Library Catalogue - working your way to the article by selecting the correct publication date, volume number, issue number and page number range.

Please see the help guide below for detailed information on finding a journal article or journal.

Freely Available Databases

You do not need a LSBU username and password to access these databases:

Search multiple EBSCO databases

A number of our databases are provided by EBSCO, this means you can search them simultaneously.

 

Journal Title Search (Encore)

Search for Journal Titles Find our print and online journals

Use this box to search for library holdings of journals.  Type in the title of the journal eg. Social Media and Society

Click on the link to the database.  You can then either browse through the years, volumes and issues, or search within the publication for a specific article.

This box will not search for journal articles.

Using the Library Discovery Service Video

This video goes through how to make the best use of our Discovery Service to find resources for your assignments.

*Updated email at end of video - askalibrarian@lsbu.ac.uk*

Trouble Accessing A Resource

Getting an error message when you try to access our e-resources? You may need to try a different browser (Chrome, Firefox, IE) or device, or clear your cache.

If you are unable to access one of our journal articles, e-books, or other online resources, you can contact our e-Resources Team who are able to assist. Alternative links will be available for a select number of resources when service issues occur.

Email details of the item you are trying to access along with a screenshot of any error messages to: llreres@lsbu.ac.uk