Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LLR Home Perry Library Havering Library FAQs
Email VLE MyLSBU Library Account

Computer Science and Informatics: Books and E-books

Class numbers for Computer Science and Informatics

Books about the same subject are assigned the same class number (or class mark or shelf mark) number.  You'll find the number on the spine of each book. Here are some key engineering class numbers to get you started with searching for books (use the library catalogue for further help):

The majority of Computer Science and Informatics books can be found at 004 (level 3 east)

You may also find the following are helpful:

Telecommunications and Computer Networks Engineering  621.382

Search the Library Catalogue (Encore)

Search the Library Catalogue Find books, e-books, DVDs

Reading Lists Online (RLO)

Reading lists are composed by your lecturers.  The lists will include the books, journal articles, websites, podcasts, programmes etc. that your lecturer wants you to read or watch.  These can be online materials that you can sign in to access.  If they are print materials available in the library, the list will link you through to the library catalogue.

There should be a reading list attached to each of your modules.  It will usually appear on the right of your module, on Moodle.

Click on the module title to access your list.

Alternatively, you can go straight to the Reading Lists database here  From here you can search for a module name, a module code, a keyword, or an academic.

Academic skills in Engineering

Guide to research projects for engineering students : planning, writing and presenting by Eng-Choon Leong, Carmel Lee-Hsia Heah, Kenneth Keng Wee Ong (Class number: 620.0072 LEO)

 

Writing for science and engineering: papers, presentations and reports by Heather Silyn-Roberts (E-book only)

 

A scientific approach to writing for engineers and scientists by Robert E. Berger (E-book only)

A handbook for analytical writing : keys to strategic thinking  by William E. Winner (Class number: 808.02 WIN)
 
 
 
Critical thinking skills : effective analysis, argument and reflection by  Stella Cottrell (Class number: 153.42 COT)
 
 
 
 

Mathematics for engineers by Anthony Croft and Robert Davison (Class number: 510 CRO)
 
 
Advanced mathematics for engineers with applications in stochastic processes by  Aliakbar Montazer Haghighi, Jian-ao Lian, and Dimitar P. Mishev (E-book only)
 
Mathematics for engineers and scientists by Alan Jeffrey (Class number:  510.2462 JEF)
 
 
 
 

EBSCO ebooks Academic Collection

EBSCO Ebooks Academic Collection 

This multidisciplinary collection contains approximately 200,000 e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects, and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. Description based on publisher website.

 

 

Ebook Central

Ebook database where you can read ebooks online, download titles, and print page ranges from the thousands of ebooks available.

(Once you've clicked on the above link, click on to get into the database)

 

E-book LibGuide

E-books Libguide


See our E-book LibGuide for support using e-books.

Writing your dissertation - Engineering students

 

Other books available here.

LSBU Library and Learning Resources Accessibility Statement

Havering Library​

020 7815 5982

 library@lsbu.ac.uk