Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LLR Home Perry Library Havering Library FAQs
Email VLE MyLSBU Library Account

E-Resources: Ebooks Alternative Access

Alternative Access: E-Books - Introduction

Please use this page if you are experiencing problems accessing the full text of an ebook via the LSBU library catalogue or via your reading list in Reading Lists Online.

GlobalProtect VPN is required to access most Apps-Anywhere applications off-campus. It will also help you to access a number of our online e-resource journals and databases. We recommend that you download GlobalProtect VPN before you attempt to access the e-resources. Please see the software for remote working page.

Via the Library Catalogue

When an ebook link in the library catalogue does not take you to the full text, please do as follows:

  1. Return to the brief or full description of the item in the library catalogue.
  2. There should be a link there that says “Access this ebook via …”  
  3. Note down the name of the supplier.
    • e.g. Access this ebook via EBC/Proquest.  [EBC/ProQuest is the supplier]
    • e.g. Access this ebook via Ebsco Academic Collection [Ebsco is the supplier]
  4. Go to the list of Suppliers at the bottom of this page
  5. Select the relevant supplier from the list and follow the instructions there

Via your Reading List

When an ebook link on your reading list in Reading Lists Online doesn’t take you successfully to the full text:

  1. Hover you cursor over the link
  2. You should see the ebook’s web address appear somewhere on your screen (Its position may vary according to the browser. For Google Chrome, it may be at the far bottom of the page)
  3. The web address contains words that will give you a clue as to who is the supplier:
    • ebscohost – means Ebsco is the supplier
    • myiLibrary – means MyiLibrary is the supplier
    • ebookcentral or proquest mean EBC/ProQuest is the supplier
    • vlebooks – means Askews and Holts is the supplier
  4. Go to the list of Suppliers at the bottom of this page
  5. Select the relevant supplier from the list and follow the instructions there

Suppliers

Askews and Holts

  1. You should be able to reach the full text of Askews and Holts VLeBooks by clicking on links in the library catalogue or reading list in the normal way.
  2. If you are unable to reach the full text, please first clear the cache/browsing history on your computer or device and try again.
  3. If that does not solve it, please send an email to the Library Acquisitions and Reading List Team at llr-readinglistsonline@lsbu.ac.uk. Include the ebook’s link, title, author, year of publication, and (if from a reading list) its module code so the library can investigate for you.

 

EBC/ProQuest

  1. You should be able to reach the full text of EBC/ProQuest ebooks by clicking on links in the library catalogue or reading list in the normal way.
  2. If you are unable to reach the full text, please hover your cursor over the link. Some EBC/ProQuest ebooks are actually supplied by MyiLibrary.
  3. If the link says MyiLibrary, please follow the instructions in the MyiLibrary section below
  4. I the link says ProQuest, and it does not take you to the full text, please clear the cache/browsing history on your computer or device and try again.
  5. If that does not solve it, please send an email to the Library Acquisitions and Reading List Team at llr-readinglistsonline@lsbu.ac.uk. Include the ebook’s link, title, author, year of publication, and (if from a reading list) its module code so the library can investigate for you.

 

Ebsco or Ebsco Academic Collection

  1. You can reach the full text of nearly all of our Ebsco ebooks by clicking on their links in the library catalogue. (Enter the ebook's title and author surname in "Find books, e-books, DVDs")
  2. So, if an Ebsco ebook link on your reading list does not work, please do the following:
  3. First, try searching for the ebook in the library catalogue and click its link there.
  4. If that does not work, click here eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)
  5. On the Ebsco site, ignore the option to Choose databases
  6. Simply enter your search terms (title/author, or keywords)
  7. Click on search
  8. Select the relevant title in the list of results
  9. You can select PDF or download to see the full text at this point.
  10. If you still cannot reach the full text, please clear the cache/browsing history of your computer or device and repeat the above process.
  11. If that does not solve it, please send an email to the Library Acquisitions and Reading List Team at llr-readinglistsonline@lsbu.ac.uk. Include the ebook’s link, title, author, year of publication, and (if from a reading list) its module code so the library can investigate for you.

 

MyiLibrary

  1. If you have GlobalProtect connected, you should be able to click through directly from the library catalogue or your reading list to reach the full text of MyiLibrary ebooks. To download and set up GlobalProtect, please follow the instructions on the Software for Remote Working page. Make sure GlobalConnect is "connected".
  2. If you do not have GlobalProtect connected, you can nevertheless usually still reach the full text of MyiLibrary ebooks by doing as follows:
  3.  Go to the Eresource alternative access page
  4. Select: ProQuest Ebook Central
  5. On the ProQuest site, select: Books
  6. Enter your search terms (title/author, or keywords)
  7. Click on the magnifier icon to search
  8. Select the relevant title in the list of results
  9. You can select to read online or download to see the full text at this point.
  10. If you are unable to reach the full text, please first clear the cache/browsing history on your computer or device and try again.
  11. If that does not solve it, please send an email to the Library Acquisitions and Reading List Team at llr-readinglistsonline@lsbu.ac.uk. Include the ebook’s link, title, author, year of publication, and (if from a reading list) its module code so the library can investigate for you.

 

Other Suppliers

For other suppliers (e.g. Emerald, Wiley, Ovid, IEEE, Law Trove, etc.) –

1. Click on the item link in the library catalogue or on your reading list

2. Sometimes this will go to the full text directly, or open up a Shibboleth login form for you to fill in first.

3. But more often it will go to the item’s ‘landing page’ on the supplier’s site where you will need to look for where to log in.

4. Look for an option such as “Institutional login”, “Institution”, “Shibboleth” or (if none of those options are present) look for “Login”. Click to select the option. The wording and layout will vary from one supplier to another. 

5. If you are asked to select your group or region, select “UK Higher Education Federation”

6. If you are asked to select your institution, select “London South Bank University”.

7. This should open up the familiar Shibboleth login form where you can enter your username and password to see the full text.

8. See typical screenshots of the above steps.

9. If you are unable to reach the full text using the above steps, please first clear the cache/browsing history on your computer or device and try again.

10. If that does not solve it, please send an email to the Library Acquisitions and Reading List Team at llr-readinglistsonline@lsbu.ac.uk. Include the ebook’s link, title, author, year of publication, and (if from a reading list) its module code so the library can investigate for you.

LSBU Library and Learning Resources Accessibility Statement

Perry Library

 library@lsbu.ac.uk

Student IT Support

 student-it-support@lsbu.ac.uk

Digital Skills Centre

digitalskills@lsbu.ac.uk

Havering Library‚Äč

 library@lsbu.ac.uk