Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LLR Home Library Services Student IT Support Our Libraries Digital Skills Centre
MyAccount Email VLE MyLSBU

Environmental and Energy Engineering: Journal Databases

Alternative access to E-resources

If you cannot access the individual databases on this page, try the Alternative Access page.  The databases on this page are arranged in alphabetical order.   https://libguides.lsbu.ac.uk/e-resources

 

If you can’t get access to the ebooks or articles you require and you need help finding relevant material, please contact us by emailing  askalibrarian@lsbu.ac.uk

Search Strategy Worksheet document

Search Strategy Tips

1. Developing Keywords

Keywords are essential to researching. Break down your topic into keywords. Create a list of  words or phrases that will help your search. Think of concepts or ideas that are related to your main topic - find words with similar meanings, synonyms.

2. Phrase Searching

Use quotation marks " " for a phrase, i.e. when your keyword is made up of two or more words. Your result will be more accurate, as the engine searches for this very specific phrase.

  • "geodesic dome"
  • "sustainable architecture".

3. Boolean operators

These search operators help to narrow or broaden your search - like AND, OR, NOT.

AND finds records containing both terms - to narrow the search.

  • "modern architecture" AND Le Corbusier
  • "geodesic dome" AND Foster

OR finds records containing either one or both terms. This broadens the search. It can also be used to account for variant spellings. For example:

  • image OR identity
  • house OR building

NOT finds records containing the first term, but not the second term - it excludes.

  • sustainable NOT glass
  • renaissance NOT modern

4. Truncation

Using the asterisk symbol * enables you to chop off unnecessary word endings - so only the stem of a word is looked at by the search engine.

This is very useful for finding a broader range of results - as the search engine will come up with plural or singular endings, nouns, verbs, adjectives, AE or BE spelling.

  • manag* : manager, managers, manages, managing, management, etc.
  • architect* : architecture, architect, architects, architectonic, etc.

Free Architecture Online Journals, Magazines and blogs

Journal Databases

 

Most of the articles are full text, please note that some databases include links to full text articles (through the Access Link button). This may redirect to a new page.

How to Guides

 

An abstract is a concise summary of the contents of an article. It is written using keywords (search terms) so that other researchers can easily find it through database searching. Please note that we may not have a subscription to the full text of the article. If you are final year student or postgraduate, you can apply for an inter-library loan.

Finding Journal Articles from your Reference List

If you would like to find a particular journal article that you have come across on your reading list, etc. you can easily search for this on the Library Catalogue. It is even easier, if you have the reference for this article.

Our reference example above is in Harvard style. However, no matter what referencing style you have in front of you - determining the various components of a reference is a practical skill to possess.

  • You can complete a simple Quick Search on the Library Catalogue - by typing parts of the journal article and/or the author's surname in the second search box. This box is connected to several journal databases, called "Discovery Service".
  • You can also try looking up the journal title on the Journals tab in the Library Catalogue - working your way to the article by selecting the correct publication date, volume number, issue number and page number range.

Please see the help guide below for detailed information on finding a journal article or journal.

Journal Article Search (EDS)


Discovery Service - Search here Find journal articles and more

Journal Title Search (Encore)

Search for Journal Titles Find our print and online journals

Use this box to search for library holdings of journals.  Type in the title of the journal eg. Social Media and Society

Click on the link to the database.  You can then either browse through the years, volumes and issues, or search within the publication for a specific article.

This box will not search for journal articles.

Using the Library Discovery Service Video

This video goes through how to make the best use of our Discovery Service to find resources for your assignments.

*Updated email at end of video - askalibrarian@lsbu.ac.uk*

Finding & Using Journals guide

Trouble Accessing A Resource

Getting an error message when you try to access our e-resources? You may need to try a different browser (Chrome, Firefox, IE) or device, or clear your cache.

If you are unable to access one of our journal articles, e-books, or other online resources, you can contact our e-Resources Team who are able to assist. Alternative links will be available for a select number of resources when service issues occur.

Email details of the item you are trying to access along with a screenshot of any error messages to: llreres@lsbu.ac.uk