Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LLR Home Perry Library Havering Library FAQs
MyAccount Email VLE MyLSBU Library Account

Google Scholar: Home

Google Scholar

Google Scholar - what is it?

Google Scholar (which is run by Google and behaves like Google) is a freely available web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature. 


You can find journal articles here as well as conference proceedings and technical reports. Once you've carried out a search, as long as there's a link on the right-hand side, you should be able to get to the full text (instructions to the right of this box!).


Google Scholar recognises advanced searching so, for example, if you typed in the search box "chronic asthma*" child* treat*, you would find articles with the exact phrase "chronic asthma" or "chronic asthmatic" and child or childhood or children etc and treat or treatment or treated etc.
You can refine on the left-hand side to see publications published in the past 5 or 10 years. If you're looking at something historically and how things have changed over time, then you might not want to update this.

Google Scholar instructions

Please note, the below is not currently working as it should

To access articles in Google scholar at home you can add in the library's subscriptions:

  • Click here above to open a new window
  • Go to the 3 bar icon in the upper left corner
  • Select Settings or the cog wheel to open Settings
  • Select Library links from the left hand column
  • Search for London South Bank University - Full-Text @ LSBU
  • Tick the box to add our collections in to the search

You computer will remember this choice until you clear your cookies/cache. You do not need to do this step if you are on campus. 

When you see Access Full-Text @ LSBU on the right hand side of an article, you can click on this link to take you to the full text article.

You'll also notice other universities and organisations make articles freely available - as long as there is a link on the right-hand side of the article, you should be able to access full text.

 

LSBU Library and Learning Resources Accessibility Statement

Perry Library

 library@lsbu.ac.uk

Student IT Support

 student-it-support@lsbu.ac.uk

Digital Skills Centre

digitalskills@lsbu.ac.uk

Havering Library‚Äč

 library@lsbu.ac.uk