Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LLR Home Library Services Student IT Support Our Libraries Digital Skills Centre
MyAccount Email Moodle VLE MyLSBU

LSBU Harvard Referencing: Photograph (in an archive)

Format of the reference

With a named photographer

You will need:

  • Name of the photographer
  • Year/s
  • Title of the photograph
  • Place of Archive
  • Name of Archive
  • Catalogue/reference number

 

Format:

Surname, Initials of photographer. (Year) Title. [Photograph]. Place of Archive: Name of Archive. Catalogue/reference number, Collection.

Example:

Beacon Studios (1946) India cricket touring team Great Britain 1946. [Photograph]. London: MCC Museum. Object number: M.2015.548, Museum and Gallery.

In-text citation: (Beacon Studios, 1946)

 

Without a named photographer

You will need:

  • Name of the Archive
  • Year/s
  • Title of the photograph
  • Place of Archive
  • Catalogue/reference number

 

Format:

Name of Archive (Year) Title. [Photograph]. Place of Archive. Catalogue/reference number, Collection.

Example:

The National Archives (1960) Creswell Colliery, Derbyshire. Photograph depicting: cricket ground. [Photograph]. Kew. Reference: COAL 80/288/8, National Coal Board and predecessors.

In-text citation: (The National Archives, 1960)

Reference with a named photographer

Reference without a named photographer

Video

COMING SOON!

LSBU Harvard Referencing Quick Guide