Skip to main content
LLR Home Perry Library Havering Library
Email VLE MyLSBU Library Account

Perry Library: Home

When are we open this week?

Email Library enquirieslibrary@lsbu.ac.uk

Email Subject and Referencing enquiriesaskalibrarian@lsbu.ac.uk 

Live Chatgo.lsbu.ac.uk/library

Email Student IT Support: llr-ithelpdesk@lsbu.ac.uk

Online or telephone appointment with a LibrarianBook an Appointment

Contact Library Services

Library Services

 Email us at: library@lsbu.ac.uk

Perry Library Help desk

 Phone: 020 7815 6607

Havering Help desk

 Phone: 020 7815 5982

Book a 1:1 Appointment with a Librarian

Online and Phone Appointments

Due to Coronavirus developments we are moving from in-person appointments to online and phone appointments until further notice.  

We are using MS Teams to meet online, this application enables us to make voice calls, video calls and screen sharing. Please book your session here as usual and make sure that you are registering with your LSBU Email address. To use MS Teams, all you will need is a computer, reliable internet connection and quiet space at the time of your appointment. After your registration, we will be sending you further instructions to help you get on to MS Teams.  

If you want a phone appointment, please provide your phone number on the registration form, and a librarian will call you at the time of your appointment. 

These sessions are 30 minutes and we can offer advice with:

  • Database Searching e.g. Journal articles 
  • Referencing
  • Using Refworks

If you are unable to make any of the available slots, please email us at askalibrarian@lsbu.ac.uk and we can see if we can accommodate you.

Stationery for sale

A wide variety of stationery is available to purchase at our help desks.

LLR Blog

undefined

Online Learning & Working Remotely

What's in the Perry Library?

What’s in the Perry Library?

 

Our Help desks  

 

For IT support help –  come and see us on Level 1 West  

  • General IT assistance including support on the Microsoft Office suite and some specialist Assistive Technology Software
  • Issues with your IT account, password, and wifi access
  • Help with using the University VLE (Moodle), assignment submission, document formatting, and printing including large format and poster printing

For Library services help – come and see us on Level 1 East 

  • Help with finding books and journal articles 
  • Issues with your library account or fines
  • Help with using the Library's facilities and services

 

Our Research Help desk - come and see us on Level 3 Bridge for specialist help from our Information Skills Librarians on 

  • Finding the right information for your assignments
  • Using research databases
  • Help with referencing

A student studying in the library

 

Our Study Spaces

We've got 600 study spaces across the Library with 300 PCs and 20 Apple Macs.

 

Group  Study  – for group work, chatting, using your phone

You’ll find this on Levels 3 East, 4 East, 4 West and some more group rooms on 3 Bridge

Quiet  Study  – for quiet work and quiet talking only

You’ll find this on Levels 2 East, 1 West and 3 West and a quiet room on 2 West

Silent Study – for silent study only – no talking, not even whispering!

You’ll find this on Level 2 West and another silent room on 2 East

Look out for the signs to know which zone you are in.

Our Book and Journal Collections

Our Book Collection is spread around the Library - check our catalogue to find the "class number" of the book you want.

Book Collection
Class number 001 - 339 Level 3 East
Class number 340 - 609 Level 4 East
Class number 610 - 695 Level 3 West
Class number 696 - 999 Level 2 West

You can borrow most of our books for 2 or 4 weeks, but you'll also find extra copies of key items on your reading lists labeled as 'Library Use Only'. These books are for use in the library only and cannot be borrowed. They are shelved in the main collection, alongside loanable copies of the books.

 

Our DVD collection - can all be found on Level 3 East where they are in class number order.

Our print journals - can all be found on Level 3 East in A-Z order by title.

Our Teaching Practice collection - these are books aimed at children, for use in the classroom by teaching students (although anyone can borrow them) - you'll find them all in class number order on their own set of shelves on Level 4 East.  

Book Shelves in the Perry Library

New Students

We are updating information for the academic year 2020/2021.

This will be posted as soon as possible.

Events and Workshops at Southwark Campus

Southwark Events & Workshops

Replacement Student ID Card

Lost your Student ID Card?

Cost £5

Collect from the Student Life Centre

Computers in Perry Library

Perry Library

 

Floor

 

Zone

PCs

Macs

Level

1 East

 Reception

 0

 

1 West

Quiet

62

10

Level

2 East

Quiet 

91 

 

2 West

Silent/Quiet 

20/24 

Level

3 East

Group 

 0

 

3 West

Quiet 

Level

4 East

Group 

26

 

4 West

Group 

55 

Our Bookable Group Study Rooms also contain collaborative computer desks

Our Customer Charter for Library and Learning Resources

Havering Library‚Äč

020 7815 5982

 library@lsbu.ac.uk