Before you go on to a database, you need to prepare your search strategy. Use the Search Strategy Worksheet and Search Strategy Tips in the left column to help you make your search fast and effective.
In the middle column you will find a list of databases useful for your research, look out for the Best Bets for key databases.
Databases are laid out in different ways, have a look at the How to Guides for key databases in the right column.
You can still use the Discovery Service on this page, but due to the ICT disruption you will not be able to access the individual databases from here.
We have created a page to help you access the electronic resources that are currently available to you. This will be regularly updated and includes a range of our journal, specialised databases and ebooks.
Please click on the following link: https://libguides.lsbu.ac.uk/e-resources
If you can’t get access to the ebooks or articles you require and you need help finding relevant material, please contact us by emailing email@example.com
If you see the above screen, use the drop down menu to find UK Higher Education. This will take you to a list of UK institutions. Find London South Bank University, and log in once you have clicked on the link.
It is important that you don't just search for a whole sentence or question and instead think carefully about what are your most important keywords
e.g. Discuss methods of achieving success at university
Your keywords would be success AND university
The database will just search for the keywords you enter into the search box, therefore you need to think about all the different ways something might be described
e.g. university may also be described as "higher education" OR college OR "educational institution"
In order to keep two or more words together as a phrase, enclose them in quotation marks
e.g. "higher education" will look for the phrase "higher education" rather than individual words, "higher" and "education".
A number of databases allow you to use the asterisk symbol * to save you time
e.g. manag* will find manage, manages, managed, managing, management etc.
If you would like to find a particular journal article that you have come across on your reading list, etc. you can easily search for this on the Library Catalogue. It is even easier, if you have the reference for this article.
Our reference example above is in Harvard style. However, no matter what referencing style you have in front of you - determining the various components of a reference is a practical skill to possess.
Please see the help guide below for detailed information on finding a journal article or journal.
A number of our databases are provided by EBSCO, this means you can search them simultaneously.
Use this box to search for library holdings of journals. Type in the title of the journal eg. Social Media and Society.
Click on the link to the database. You can then either browse through the years, volumes and issues, or search within the publication for a specific article.
This box will not search for journal articles.
This video goes through how to make the best use of our Discovery Service to find resources for your assignments.
*Updated email at end of video - firstname.lastname@example.org*
Getting an error message when you try to access our e-resources? You may need to try a different browser (Chrome, Firefox, IE) or device, or clear your cache.
If you are unable to access one of our journal articles, e-books, or other online resources, you can contact our e-Resources Team who are able to assist. Alternative links will be available for a select number of resources when service issues occur.
Email details of the item you are trying to access along with a screenshot of any error messages to: email@example.com